The steering committee members include:

• Michael Lucken (Senior Lecturer in Art History, chair)
• Emmanuel Lozerand (Senior Lecturer in Japanese Literature, Vice-chair)
• A representative of the PhD candidates (Adrien Carbonnet until Sept. 2014).

The team includes 41 research fellows (27 senior lecturers, lecturers and associate professors, 2 professors "agrégés", 1 emeritus professor, 11 post-doctoral fellows), 15 research associates and 34 PhD candidates.

Established in 1974, CEJ was chaired by François Macé until 2005, then by Anne Bayard-Sakai from 2006 to 2013.